Sign In Forgot Password

Vilt Ir Lernen Yiddish Beginners Course with Chicago Loop Synagogue and Congregation Beth Sholom

Upcoming Sessions

1. Wednesday, December 7, 2022 13 Kislev 5783

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

2. Wednesday, December 14, 2022 20 Kislev 5783

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Past Sessions
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 6 Kislev 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, November 16, 2022 22 Cheshvan 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, November 9, 2022 15 Cheshvan 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 8 Cheshvan 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, October 26, 2022 1 Cheshvan 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, October 19, 2022 24 Tishrei 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, October 12, 2022 17 Tishrei 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, September 7, 2022 11 Elul 5782 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, August 31, 2022 4 Elul 5782 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 16 Sivan 5782 - 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, June 8, 2022 9 Sivan 5782 - 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 24 Iyyar 5782 - 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 17 Iyyar 5782 - 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, May 11, 2022 10 Iyyar 5782 - 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, May 4, 2022 3 Iyyar 5782 - 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, April 27, 2022 26 Nisan 5782 - 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, April 6, 2022 5 Nisan 5782 - 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, March 30, 2022 27 Adar II 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, March 16, 2022 13 Adar II 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, March 9, 2022 6 Adar II 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, February 23, 2022 22 Adar I 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, February 16, 2022 15 Adar I 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, February 9, 2022 8 Adar I 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, January 26, 2022 24 Shevat 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, January 19, 2022 17 Shevat 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, January 12, 2022 10 Shevat 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, January 5, 2022 3 Shevat 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, December 8, 2021 4 Tevet 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 27 Kislev 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, November 17, 2021 13 Kislev 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, November 10, 2021 6 Kislev 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, November 3, 2021 28 Cheshvan 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 21 Cheshvan 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 14 Cheshvan 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 30 Tishrei 5782 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Thursday, September 2, 2021 25 Elul 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, September 1, 2021 24 Elul 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, August 18, 2021 10 Elul 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, August 11, 2021 3 Elul 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, August 4, 2021 26 Av 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, July 28, 2021 19 Av 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, July 21, 2021 12 Av 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, July 14, 2021 5 Av 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, July 7, 2021 27 Tammuz 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

We are proud to announce that due to demand, we are expanding our “Vilt Ir Lernen Yiddish” courses.

If you want to start learning Yiddish, we are offering a beginners class with Congregation Beth Sholom of Northbrook every Wednesday at 11:30 AM (New time starts April 6 at 3:30 PM).

Our  Advanced classes continue to meet every Thursday at 1:00 PM.

Both courses cost $100 per person

Instructor:  Eyshe Beirich - A third-year graduate student at the University of Chicago majoring in Germanic Studies and Jewish Studies, Beirich intends to pursue a Ph.D. in Yiddish Studies—extending an academic path that began two years ago as a journey of familial discovery. Join us as we explore Yiddish together!

Questions? Contact:
Cary Wolovick -- Caryw@chiloopsyn.org
Leann Blue -- Lblue@bethshalomnb.org

We’re so happy to have you join us! Please be aware that by registering for this class you will be expected to:

  • attend class regularly
  • practice a little bit of Yiddish each day (light homework)
  • You must purchase the textbook -- Colloquial Yiddish by Lily Kahn (Click here to purchase on Amazon).

The book is expensive, but Gela feels it is an essential part of learning beginning Yiddish.

If you have any questions or want to register, contact: Cary Wolovick by clicking here.

 

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Sun, December 4 2022 10 Kislev 5783