Sign In Forgot Password

Vilt Ir Lernen Yiddish Beginners Course with Chicago Loop Synagogue and Congregation Beth Sholom

Upcoming Sessions

1. Wednesday, October 6, 2021 30 Tishrei 5782

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

2. Wednesday, October 20, 2021 14 Cheshvan 5782

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

3. Wednesday, October 27, 2021 21 Cheshvan 5782

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

4. Wednesday, November 3, 2021 28 Cheshvan 5782

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

5. Wednesday, November 10, 2021 6 Kislev 5782

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

6. Wednesday, November 17, 2021 13 Kislev 5782

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

7. Wednesday, December 1, 2021 27 Kislev 5782

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

8. Wednesday, December 8, 2021 4 Tevet 5782

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

9. Wednesday, December 15, 2021 11 Tevet 5782

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Past Sessions
Thursday, September 2, 2021 25 Elul 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, September 1, 2021 24 Elul 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, August 18, 2021 10 Elul 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, August 11, 2021 3 Elul 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, August 4, 2021 26 Av 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, July 28, 2021 19 Av 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, July 21, 2021 12 Av 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, July 14, 2021 5 Av 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, July 7, 2021 27 Tammuz 5781 - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

We are proud to announce that due to demand, we are expanding our “Vilt Ir Lernen Yiddish” courses.

If you want to start learning Yiddish, we are offering a beginners class with Congregation Beth Sholom of Northbrook every Wednesday at 11:30 starting on Wednesday, July 7 until Wednesday, August 25.

Our existing Conversational and Advanced classes continue to meet every Thursday at 11:00 AM and 1:00 PM.

All 3 courses cost $75 per person

Instructor: Gela Altman -- Gela was born in Cuba to Jewish parents of Polish descent. They wanted her and her sisters to become literate in Yiddish, and thus began Gela's love affair with our wonderful ancestral language. She attended Hebrew/Yiddish school until the age of 12, where she studied and perfected Yiddish and Spanish. 

After leaving Cuba in 1961, she eventually finished high school and college, receiving her MSW in Clinical Social Work from Loyola University. Since retiring in 2014, Gela has been teaching Yiddish classes to others who want to learn!  

We’re so happy to have you join us! Please be aware that by registering for this class you will be expected to:

  • attend class regularly
  • practice a little bit of Yiddish each day (light homework)
  • You must purchase the textbook -- Colloquial Yiddish by Lily Kahn (Click here to purchase on Amazon).

The book is expensive, but Gela feels it is an essential part of learning beginning Yiddish.

If you have any questions or want to register, contact: Cary Wolovick by clicking here.

 

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Sun, September 19 2021 13 Tishrei 5782